The Seven Chakra Colours and Their Meanings

Earth to Heart

The Seven Chakra Colours and Their Meanings

The Seven Chakras are:

1. Root Chakra (Red) 

2. Sacral Chakra (Orange) 

3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Yellow) 

4. Heart Chakra (Green) 

5. Throat Chakra (Blue) 

6. Third Eye Chakra (Indigo) 

7. The Crown Chakra (Violet)

What they mean?

1. Root Chakra (Red) 
Sanskrit: Muladhara Chakra
Location: at the coccyx (which is the base of the spine) 

It represents emotions of being grounded.
Red signifies courage, power, strength, love, war and desire as well as danger due to its intensity.

Imbalance of this chakra creates attachment issues to money, material things and basic necessities like food.

2. Sacral Chakra (Orange)

Sanskrit: Swadhisthana Chakra
Location: at the pubic bone below the navel. 

Orange is associated with enthusiasm, happiness, attraction, joy, sexuality, creativity, desire, the reproductive system and compassion.

There is a vital connection between the Sacral Chakra and the senses of the body (such as female reproductive organs, the bladder, lymphatic system, and the pelvic glands).

Imbalance of this chakra may manifest itself in dullness and problems associate with the reproductive organs.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Yellow Color)

Sanskrit: Manipura Chakra
Location: at the solar plexus, the region from the breastbone to the navel.

Manipura means the city of jewels. The chakra of personal power associated with the professional success or the individual’s real life success. 

Yellow is associated with the charge, sun, bright fire, and high volumes of energy. It is also associated with producing effects of warming, joy, intellect and stimulating the mental activity of the body. 

There is a connection between this category of chakra and the sense of sight.

4. Heart Chakra (Green Color)

Sanskrit: Anahata Chakra

Location: Region around the heart

The Heart Chakra has an element of the air which is associated with the color green. 

It has huge impacts on relationships, including love and marriage. When there is distrust, envy, and unfaithfulness, the heart chakra weakens. It is the main reason why there are breakages of long-term relationships between loved ones.

One of the senses connected to the heart chakra is the sense of touch in the body. It is also associated with nature, believed to bring wholeness into our lives. It is the source of affection and love that builds relationships. It is spiritual in nature connected to the Thymus and lymph glands in the body.

5. Throat Chakra (Blue Color)

Sanskrit: Vissudhi Chakra
Location: Throat region

Refferred to as the true voice. The throat chakra is blue and crucial in the body and associated with the human being’s ability to listen attentively and also to communicate with other people. There are numerous glands attached to this chakra which include the jaws, teeth, throat, ears, neck vertebrae and other mouth glands.

When there is a right balance of the throat chakra, we can express our feelings efficiently through communication, using a pleasant voice. It improves the artistic and the spiritual abilities in our bodies. 

6. Third Eye Chakra (Indigo Color)

Sanskrit: Ajna Chakra

Location: slight above the eyebrow centre

Enables foresight and the ability to see the bigger picture via imagination. When perfectly balanced, human beings can have wonderful personalities and relate to each other effectively by sharing essential ideas.

It also improves the telepathic abilities and reduces the fear of the death. The sense of thought is the one connected with this chakra. It is the main center of intuition in the body. It enables us to live focused on our daily activities.

7. The Crown Chakra (Violet Color)

Sankrit : Sahasrara Chakra
Location: crown of the head. 

It enlightens the spiritual connections of one individual to the others, and also to the supreme beings. The nervous system, the pituitary gland, and the brain glands are some of the vital glands connected with the crown chakra.

When there is a good balance of the crown chakra in the body, an individual can have great capabilities like performing miracles, knowing the right and the wrong, interpretation of hidden things and doing many other extraordinary activities.